Heidecksburg Residential Castle Rudolstadt
Resembling an over-sized crown on the head of the former royal town of Rudolstadt, Heidecksburg Castle rests 60 metres above the Old Quarter. Count Albrecht VII of Schwarzburg (1537-1605) had a three-wing Renaissance castle complex built on the foundation walls of a former fortress dating from the 13th century and a successor dating from the second half of the 14th century. After a fire had destroyed large sections of Heidecksburg Castle, Prince Friedrich Anton (1692-1744) commissioned the construction of a new complex in 1737. The parts of the old castle which had survived were integrated into the new building. This new Baroque castle was designed to reflect the prestigious status of the house of Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt, which had been elevated to the station of "prince" in 1710.
Today there are guided tours to show visitors the castle with its magnificent rooms. The walk through the castle's function rooms provides a fascinating impression of the airiness and glory of Rococo. In the north wing of the castle, the most impressive items in the royal collection of some 4,000 weapons can be admired. Other permanent exhibitions can be seen in the art gallery with major works of the 18th and 19th century and in the porcelain gallery, where visitors can become immersed in the world of "White Gold" from Thuringia.
The miniature world "Rococo en Miniature" is to be found in the vaults of the former royal court kitchen. On a scale of 1:50, a fantasy world unlike any other can be admired, showing two kingdoms in Rococo style, including palaces and residents.